The Best of the Best Awarded – ASATA Diners Club Awards

ASATA and Diners Club are proud to announce the names of those travel professional who have been singled out for the honour of receiving these prestigious ASATA Diners Club Awards.

The award winners were announced at a glittering ASATA Diners Club Awards ceremony held during the ASATA Conference on the 20th of May, at the stunning Lourensford Wine Estate.

The South African travel industry considers these awards a great accolade and acknowledgement of excellence, with nominations having been received from all over the country.  The expert panel of judges took great care in scoring the entries through an anonymous review process to identify the worthy winners in various sectors of this exciting travel industry.

The ASATA Diners Club Awards recognise those individuals who consistently exceed expectations, display great people skills, have strong travel knowledge, and pay close attention to details, offer support client support, show initiative and set exceptional high standards to the benefit of their clients, the industry and in the interest of true professionals.

The winners in the eight categories are:

Special Awards:

Exceptional Commitment

George Argyropolous – Cruises International

Tomorrow’s Leader

Robyn Daneel-Spicer- Sure Stellenbosch Travel

Retail Sector:

Corporate Consultant in a Travel Agency

Tammy MacFie – Reynolds Travel Centre

Leisure Consultant in a Travel Agency

Evengeline September Club – Travel Algoa Bay

Key Accounts Executive in a Travel Agency

Chantelle du Plooy – HRG Rennies Travel

Independent Travel Consultant (ITC)

Gail Parker – Harvey World Travel

Wholesale Sector

Wholesale Consultant in a Tour Operator

Jenny de Vries – Beachcomber Tours

Wholesale Representative in a Tour Operator

Deanne Allchurch – Travel Vision

Says Otto de Vries, CEO ASATA: “Congratulations to all our worthy winners and thank you to all those who took the time to nominate their colleagues, peers and employees.

“Our thanks to the judges who were selected for their expertise and standing in the travel industry.  Their non-partisan participation and generous contribution of their time and expertise is greatly valued.

“Finally, our sincere gratitude to Diners Club for their very generous sponsorship of these prestigious awards and their laudable commitment, support and belief in the travel industry in recognising travel professionals and awarding them these accolades.”

To find out more about the finalists, the winners and more details, visit the Awards website on;